Saturday, October 16, 2010

Swimsuit - Demo


Not to be confused with Swimming Trunks, Swimsuit is a Detroit based indie/rock/twee band. A friend sent me this demo and I've been listening to it on repeat for a couple of days now. Perfect two minute pop songs that are both intricate and infectious. From start to finish this demo has an intangible special quality to it that I can't put my finger on. Easily the best new band in Detroit, and seemingly poised to have their careers launched into the indie rock stratosphere.

On tour now, don't miss out on this shit NYC mothafuckas:


CAID - early show!!, Detroit, MI
Sat, October 17 @ 5:00 PM


PJ's Lager House, Detroit, MI
Thu, October 28 @ 9:00 PM


Dreamland Theater, Ypsilanti, MI
Fri, November 05 @ 9:00 PM


The Foxhole, Fredonia, NY
Wed, November 10 @ 8:30 PM


Vassar College, Poughkeepsie, NY
Thu, November 11 @ 8:00 PM


Glasslands Gallery, Brooklyn, NY
Fri, November 12 @ 9:00 PM


The Elevens, Norhampton, MA
Sat, November 13 @ 8:00 PM


Wildfire Lounge, Ithaca, New York
Sun, November 14 @ 8:00 PM

Thursday, October 14, 2010

Food Pyramid - I

Received this submission a few weeks back. Krautrock out of Minnesota. Astronomical looping electronic units accompanied by progressive instrumentation that will bring you back down within the Earth's atmosphere. Or maybe not. Either way, I is out now on Moon Glyph, with II and III coming out soon.

Tuesday, October 12, 2010

Junk Culture @ DC9

Caught Tobacco/Dreamend/Junk Culture at DC9 a few weeks back. Junk Culture stole the show, and Tobacco pretty much just DJed his own shit. Lame. Here's a video a friend (Show Me Deals, Show Me Deals) put together from the show. This two-parter includes a large chunk of their set, an interview, and the two of us stoned as shit talking to some crazy woman that lost her keys at the supermarket. Good times.

- Dan


Sunday, October 10, 2010

Zach Hill - Face Tat


Greatest shit I've heard all year. Just shat myself listening to "Jackers". A must-have. Grab it @ his bandcamp.

Monday, October 4, 2010

Tungs - Sleeping

Psych, shoegaze, electronic, post-punk, dream-pop, kraut. Richmond, VA's Tungs touch on virtually every genre on this record, and this is sure to receive heavy rotation with many of you. Easily one of the most promising acts in Richmond right now.

- Dan